The Town: What it is, and current progress.

Date: 07/15/2023


Hello! I'm a couple days late to posting this, and overall late to announcing the project overall, but it's here now!

Earlier in the year, I posted a picture on Twitter of a couple of ROBLOX OCs that I had made, Dee and Jay, but I never said what these OCs were for.

Since around March, I have been working on and off on a ROBLOX game called The Town. It's a hangout/exploration game that takes place in this small, isolated floating island known as, well, The Town. Due to the nature of this project I need to keep a lot of things under wraps for the sake of maintaining the element of surprise, but what I will share as of now is:

  • It is inspired by a dysfunctional neighborhood/Dummies/similar games.
  • Exploring the map is encouraged.
  • I have plenty of ideas for mechanics, but rn I'm prioritizing individual character schedules.
  • Generally family friendly, will probably be either All Ages or 9+ at release, but as with most everything I make the target demographic is probably closer to teens.
  • Lore.
  • And that's about it, I think.

    As for current progress, it won't necessarily be "current" current, as I'll basically just be repeating what was already said in my Twitter circle (which is reserved for mutuals), and my Discord server (please join).

    As mentioned before, I've been working on this since March. However, I didn't really pick it up again until June. Here's everything that I've done up to July 7th:


    First thing I did after picking it back up was mess around with new styles for the text box. Unfortunately I later fucked something up and had to go back to the plugin's default. RIP.


    Then I got to work on Maya's model, based on the basic idea I had for her at the time. Around the same time I got to work on her actual design.

    Maya's current model isn't final at all, I assure you that. Not just because I didn't even have her design finished, but because the initial approach I used to make her model to begin with was embarrassingly bad, since I was (and still am) figuring out Blender, but I have a slightly better idea what I'm doing now, so I will remake her model in the future. It just isn't a priority at this point in time.


    After that, I started work on some of the actual programming for the game. Y'know, the thing that actually makes this game, a game, and not just a collection of ideas and artwork? In this example, I was checking the game's time and selecting a conversation based on what time it currently was. It's so basic but believe me, making sure I could do something as simple as this was essential since I'm still so new to scripting, pfft.

    And that's about as much as I have to show rn. I have made a little progress since then, but most of that was on lore and planning schedules/characters.

    Up until now I've been kind of just running off of nothing, with a vague idea of what I need to get done, so I've also been working on a Trello board to organize all my tasks and break down the bigger ones into smaller ones. This is to reduce stress and minimize the amount of times I get stuck.

    I'll be posting updates at the end of each month to keep you guys updated. Depending on how much I get done, you can expect the first one in a couple weeks. If not, then next month. As of now I have no release date in mind, or even an idea when it will be done. I also do not currently need assistance, I'm content with working on this by myself.

    I'm working on this in my own spare time. This is simply a lil passion project. But I am determined to get it done. So I'll go ahead and do that. Have a good one!

    EDIT: I COMPLETELY forgot to include the final artwork for Mayor Maya's design! Here it is for those who are interested.

    And a transparent version just because.

    Also added the link to the original Dee and Jay post.